Home

I’m all for wheat alternative breads and treats, with higher protein content and the use of natural ingredients. Let’s ditch the preservatives and get out the baking gloves! (Plus, bread tastes much nicer straight out the oven!

 

Let’s start with the ingredients you’ll need:

  • 2 medium bananas (200g)  – Pretty easy to find anywhere.
  • 1/8 cup (22g) of coconut flour – You may need to get to a health store, but this is a great flour alternative and I believe it should be kept in every person’s cupboard ready for baking.
  • 3 whole eggs – You know how to crack an egg right?
  • 2 egg whites – Let the runny egg whites drip out, keep a hold of that yolk! Trust me, you will start to learn how to get the most out of your egg whites.
  • 1/2 cup (46g) of oats – One of my favourite foods, great for everything.
  • 1/2 cup (54g) of banana whey protein powder – If you can get vegan protein, such as rice protein powder, then it can be a more natural option; ideally you want banana flavour for this recipe. Stay away from Soya protein powders.
  • 1/2 cup (105ml) of milk – I always use rice milk, try and stay away from excessive dairy consumption and soya products.
  • 8 brazil nuts – Any nuts or dried fruit will do, whatever you fancy!
  • 1 tsp of baking powder – Because, well your baking something…

 

  • Blend together and bake at 160 (320) for about 40 minutes (or until your utensil comes out clean after stabbing the bread), in a silicone bread loaf pan.

     

    Slice into 10…

    The result per slice:

    • 105 kcals
    • 7.85g protein
    • 8.79g carbs (3.7g sugars)
    • 3.98g fat (1.2g sat)
    • 1.93g fiber

     

    banana_bread

     

    Yum!

    Enjoy ❤

    Safiyah Esack – 08/04/2013

21 thoughts on “High protein, easy & yummy, banana bread.

  1. I tend not to leave many remarks, however after reading some of the remarks on this page
    High protein, easy & yummy, banana bread. | Safiyah Esack.
    I actually do have a couple of questions for you if you tend
    not to mind. Is it just me or does it look as if like some of the comments come across like they are coming from brain dead folks?
    😛 And, if you are posting at other social sites,
    I would like to keep up with you. Would you make a list of the complete urls of all your public sites like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

    • I think the comments are coming from different countries, therefore relying on translators.

      Safiyah Esack on Facebook (Profile + Page to follow).

      @safiyahesack on Twitter

      Thanks!

  2. First of all I want to say great blog! I had
    a quick question that I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was curious to find out how you center yourself and clear your head before writing. I have had trouble clearing my mind in getting my ideas out. I do take pleasure in writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes tend to be wasted simply just trying to figure out how to begin. Any ideas or tips? Kudos!

    • Thanks 🙂
      Honestly I don’t know, I just set my mind to it and do it. I write about my passions, experiences and studies; therefore it seems to just flow. I know it’s not as easy for some people and they spend hours in quiet rooms trying to produce the first sentence. Everyone works differently and finds different methods helpful.
      All I know is that once you finish your first piece, all the effort will be worth it. I know you’ll be a great writer!

  3. An impressive share! I have just forwarded this onto a
    coworker who has been doing a little homework on this.

    And he in fact bought me dinner simply because I stumbled upon it for
    him… lol. So let me reword this…. Thank YOU for the meal!
    ! But yeah, thanx for spending some time to discuss this subject here on your website.

  4. Good post. I learn something totally new and challenging on sites I stumbleupon on a daily basis.
    It will always be exciting to read content from other authors and use something from other sites.

  5. I’m amazed, I must say. Seldom do I encounter a blog that’s both equally educative and entertaining,
    and without a doubt, you’ve hit the nail on the head. The issue is something which too few folks are speaking intelligently about. I’m very happy
    I found this during my hunt for something relating to
    this.

  6. Wow that was strange. I just wrote an very long comment but after I clicked
    submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again.
    Anyways, just wanted to say fantastic blog!

  7. Hello you have a great weblog over here! Thanks for posting this interesting stuff for us! If you keep up this good work I’ll visit your website again. Thanks!

  8. Hello terrific blog! Does running a blog like this require
    a massive amount work? I have absolutely no expertise in coding but I was hoping to start my own blog soon.
    Anyhow, should you have any recommendations or techniques for new blog owners please share.
    I understand this is off subject however I just wanted to ask.
    Many thanks!

Leave a Reply

